Appalachian Wireless Scholarship

Appalachian Wireless is pleased to be able to provide a scholarship program to assist students with higher education expenses.

2021 Appalachian Wireless Scholarship · Information

Appalachian Wireless, a division of East Kentucky Network, LLC and the leading provider of high quality wireless telecommunications products and services in Eastern Kentucky, today announced they will continue their Scholarship Program to assist students with higher education expenses.

W. Allen Gillum, CEO/General Manager, announced today Appalachian Wireless will continue their Scholarship Program that has provided a total of $93,000 so far to graduating seniors.

"This Scholarship Program is just another way that we at Appalachian Wireless are investing in the future of our region," stated Gillum. "We are committed to serving our customers and supporting the communities in our service area. By assisting students with attaining their goal of higher education, we touch lives at a personal level, and I am pleased to announce this year, we will continue our scholarship program at the $9,000 level. Nine students will receive a $1,000 scholarship this year." Gillum stated.

The Scholarship Program will provide a total of $9,000 to graduating seniors who live and attend high school within the counties of our home service area. The counties are as follows: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Martin, Magoffin, Morgan, Perry, Pike, Powell, Owsley, Whitley and Wolfe in Kentucky, Buchanan and Dickenson County in Virginia and Mingo County in West Virginia. Nine seniors will receive a one-time scholarship of $1,000 for higher education costs such as tuition, books, housing or meal charges. The Scholarship will be awarded based on financial need, academic performance, school and community involvement, personal essays and letters of recommendation.

Designed to enable Appalachian Wireless customers to ease the burden often associated with costs of higher education for their children, the Scholarship money received by the student can be used for tuition, books, housing, or meal charges. High school guidance counselors will be receiving the application packets over the next few days. A downloadable application also can be found at the top of this page.

Only students who are customers or whose parent or guardian is a customer of Appalachian Wireless will be eligible and the Scholarship will be awarded based on financial need, academic performance, school, and community involvement, personal essays and letters of recommendation. An independent panel will review the application materials. The guidance counselor will be notified of a student's award and students will receive notification of being Scholarship recipient at their year-end awards ceremony. Interested students are asked to visit the follow the application or they may contact Kristin Mulcahy at 606-339-1148 or if any further information is needed or to answer any questions regarding this program. All submissions must be postmarked by March 5th, 2021.

Appalachian Wireless is the premier CDMA/4G LTE technology-based provider of wireless phone services in Eastern Kentucky and Western Virginia. With over 295 cell sites serving 29 counties, Appalachian Wireless provides the best coverage in 8000 square miles. Headquartered in Ivel, KY, Appalachian Wireless provides the best local customer service to its licensed population base of 670,000 people in Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. Consumers can purchase phones and service from more than 30 Appalachian Wireless stores and authorized dealers.

2021 Appalachian Wireless Scholarship · Forms & Documents

Shakira Lester
Phelps High School

Jaxson Ratliff
Johnson Central High Schoo

Aariana Sparks
Betsy Layne High School

Alyssa Sargent
Phelps High School
Matthew Thomas
Jackson County High School

Kathryn Bowman
Lee County High School

Kenzie Collier
Letcher County High School

Sarah Sellers
Harlan High School
Hannah Jones
Harlan County High Scnool
Total awarded to scholarship recipients