2023-2024 Appalachian Wireless Scholarship

Appalachian Wireless believes that our students are our future. As such, we are pleased to be able to provide a scholarship program to assist students with higher education expenses. For more information, please see the letter from our CEO, Mike Johnson:

As CEO of East Kentucky Network, LLC, d/b/a Appalachian Wireless, I am delighted to announce that we again will offer a Scholarship Program to eligible high school seniors. The Appalachian Wireless Scholarship program was established to help ease the burden on Appalachian Wireless customers for the costs associated with higher education for their children. Therefore, only students who are customers or whose parent or guardian has been a customer of Appalachian Wireless for at least the past 12 months will be eligible to apply.

The Scholarship Program will provide a total of $9,000 to graduating seniors who live and attend high school within the counties of our home service area. The counties are as follows: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Martin, Magoffin, Morgan, Perry, Pike, Powell, Owsley, Whitley and Wolfe in Kentucky, Buchanan and Dickenson County in Virginia. Nine high school seniors will receive a one-time scholarship of $1,000 for higher education costs such as tuition, books, housing, or meal charges.

The Scholarship will be awarded based on financial need, academic performance, school and community involvement, personal essays, and letters of recommendation.

A completed application must be postmarked no later than March 6, 2024.

An independent panel will review the application materials and notify you if your school's student is selected. The announcement must be kept confidential until your awards ceremony when a representative from Appalachian Wireless will make a special presentation.

We truly appreciate the efforts of the educators in our region and trust these scholarships will be used to help students work toward achieving their life goals. Please get in touch with our Marketing Manager, Kristin Mulcahy, at 800-438-2355 ext. 1148 if you have any questions regarding this Scholarship.


Mike Johnson, CEO

Previous Recipients
Kirsten Olegario
Pikeville High School

Takara May
Belfry High School

Harley Coleman
East Ridge High School

Alexandra Combs
Wolfe County High School

Braxten Davidson
Hazard High School
Laken Chaney
Hazard High School

Kaylin Hickey
Bell County High School

Jesse Cottrell
Harlan High School

Lauryn Smith
Clay County High School
Total Amount Awarded